Call for Award Nominations – Needed by Friday, Sep 12!

Each year since 1987, AERO has given the Northern Rockies Sustainable Agriculture Award to innovative researchers, educators, and farmers doing exceptional work in the field of sustainable agriculture. This award recognizes the differences each of these individuals has made to sustainable farm and ranch practices, research, education, marketing, and the development of community-based food systems in Montana.

Since 2007, the Sustainable Energy Award has recognized individuals who, through their work or by their example, have helped to build and promote an energy system that is rooted in energy conservation, energy efficiency, and decentralized, Montana-owned, renewable energy production. This award recognizes the tremendous role these individuals have played in the adoption of conservation practices, the spread of renewable energy production, or the implementation of sustainable energy principles in homes, businesses, farms or communities around Montana.

PLUS! In honor of AERO’s 40th Anniversary, we will award the Northern Rockies Leadership in Sustainability Award. This award, given every 5 years, recognizes those individuals that have had the biggest impact in creating positive and lasting changes on Montana’s food and energy landscape and AERO.

Award recipients are honored on Saturday evening of the Annual Meeting, receive a framed certificate, and have their names added to a plaque, which is displayed proudly in the AERO office.

The Annual Meeting Committee is accepting nominations now in each of the following categories:

Sustainable Agriculture (new categories!)
Category 1- Implementer: Home/Farm/Business Owner
Category 2- Instigator: Promoter/Organizer/Educator

Sustainable Energy
Category 1- Implementer: Home/Farm/Business Owner
Category 2- Instigator: Promoter/Organizer/Educator

Leadership in Sustainability
Past Sustainable Agriculture Award Winners Include:
2013 Floyd & Jean Dahlman, Brent Sarchet
2012 Ole Norgaard, Jason Mandala
2011 Paul Hubbard, Jacob & Courtney Cowgill
2010 Mark Rehder – Farms for Families and MSU Sustainable Food & Bio-energy Systems Program Staff: Alison Harmon, Bruce Maxwell, Mary Stein, William Dyer
2009 Kiki Hubbard, Pam Clevenger & Kurt Wellborn
2008 Leslie Kline, Barry Flamm, Dave Christensen, Crissie McMullan
2007 Bruce Smith, Pam Gerwe, Mikel & Nancy Lund
2006 Laura Garber & Paul Madeen, Cliff Bradley & Doug Crabtree

Past Energy Award Winners:
2013 Kyla Maki, Kim Reineking
2012 Russ Doty, Kathi Montgomery
2011 Ed Gulick, Larry Gallagher
2010 Dave Ryan, Jim Baerg
2009 Sam Hoffman/Red Lodge Ales, Gloria Flora
2008 Ross Holter/Flathead Electric Co-op, Steve Loken, Pat Dopler
2007 Dr. David Healow, Chris Borton/Sage Mountain Center

Past Leadership in Sustainability Award Winners:
30th Anniversary – Al Kurki, Pam Mavrolas, Nancy Matheson, Elizabeth and Wilbur Wood
35th Anniversary – Jane Kile, Barbara Rusmore, National Center for Appropriate Technology
We would like all nominations in by September 12th so the Committee can make a selection and do preparations for our Annual Meeting in Red Lodge, October 17-19th.

Please email me with your nominee and a brief explanation of why they are deserving of the award.

Caroline Wallace, [email protected]
(406) 443-7272

This entry was posted in Energy News, Food and Agriculture News, What's New. Bookmark the permalink.