Welcome AERO Staff, fond farewell to Lindsay Ganong

July 09, 2021

The AERO Board of Directors would like to say a bittersweet farewell to our own Lindsay Ganong, who will be leaving her position as AERO’s Grant Programs Manager in early July to begin a new position as Program Leader for the Master of Science in Dietetic Systems Leadership program at Montana State University. Lindsay has been an invaluable member of the AERO team, and her dedication, knowledge, and passion for sustainable, resilient communities and food systems has inspired and touched all those she has worked and interacted with across Montana. Not to mention the lasting impact her work will have in the state in the years to come! While Lindsay will be deeply missed by all at AERO, we are excited to see the good work that she will do in her position at Montana State University and wish her all the best in her new role.

AERO is committed to continue, and increase, the positive impacts the organization has had on sustainable food systems and alternative energies in Montana. In this capacity we are excited to welcome three new staff to the organization who are dedicated to upholding AERO’s mission and vision: Drew Shanafelt as Interim Abundant Montana Director, Erin Austin as Interim Director of Community Partners, and Gillian Thornton as Member Outreach Coordinator.  Also supporting the Abundant Montana expansion effort are our Communications Coordinators Mary Auld and Natalie Wilkinson, and Communications Supervisor Sammie McGowan who all joined earlier this spring.  Check out their bios below! Last, Robin Kelson has accepted the Board’s invitation to accept a permanent position as Executive Director, on an annual renewable contract basis.

  We are also thankful to current AERO contractors Michal DeChellis, Montana Food Economy Initiative Program Manager, and Sam Blomquist, Cottage Food Program Manager, for their continued support during this time of transition. If you would like to learn more or have questions about a specific project, please find the appropriate contact information below:

Finally, please join us in welcoming Ada Smith and Colter Schroeder to the AERO Board of Directors. Ada and Colter fill the vacancies left by Erin and Drew’s transitions to staff.

Meet the AERO Team here

Alternative Energy Resources Organization

Mailing address: PO Box 1558, Helena MT 59624-1558

Physical address: 32 S Ewing St #314, Helena MT 59601